The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code Info

Discover new releases and best sellers books in mathematics, behavioral science, biology, astronomy and much more. Our community reviews will help you choose the right book. Read&Download The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code by Margalit Fox,Pam Ward Online


In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The
Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code
tells
one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language,
masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an
elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans
unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that
flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he
discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written
records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even
the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery.


Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's
riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze
Age Aegean-the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen-to the turn of the
20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur
Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These
include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script
but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct
consequence of the decipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of
the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.


Average Ratings and Reviews
review-bg

4.30

234 Ratings

5

4

3

2

1


Ratings and Reviews From Market


client-img 4.3
129
66
26
7
7

Reviews for The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code:

Best Books from your Favorite Authors & Publishers

compare-icon compare-icon
Thousands of books

Take your time and choose the perfect book.

review-icon review-icon
Read Reviews

Read ratings and reviews to make sure you are on the right path.

vendor-icon vendor-icon
Multiple Stores

Check price from multiple stores for a better shopping experience.

gift-icon

Enjoy Result