Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court Info

Check Reviews and find answers for biographies of leaders, outstanding people and big historical figures. Before downloading your favorite book see our picks for the best biographies and memoirs of 2019. Read&Download Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court by Jalen Rose Online


Average Ratings and Reviews
review-bg

4.44

890 Ratings

5

4

3

2

1


Ratings and Reviews From Market


client-img 4.6
104
22
7
3
1
client-img 3.92
283
265
82
3
1
client-img 4.8
23
25
16
3
0

Reviews for Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court:

5

Jan 28, 2016

This book is pure candy for basketball nerds like me. I cannot recommend the audiobook version enough, which is narrated by Jalen himself, which gives it a similar edge than listening to the Jalen and Jacoby podcast. I don't want to make a bad pun here, but the book was everything I wanted it to be: a complete, exhaustive breakdown of what it is to be an NBA player, from birth to retirement. It's what Jalen provides and Good God, didn't he do it with absolute style or what?

There's an editorial This book is pure candy for basketball nerds like me. I cannot recommend the audiobook version enough, which is narrated by Jalen himself, which gives it a similar edge than listening to the Jalen and Jacoby podcast. I don't want to make a bad pun here, but the book was everything I wanted it to be: a complete, exhaustive breakdown of what it is to be an NBA player, from birth to retirement. It's what Jalen provides and Good God, didn't he do it with absolute style or what?

There's an editorial aspect to this book I really liked also, which contains quips about the NCAA and infamous head coach Larry Brown among others, as well as segments on Jalen's relationship to his father Jimmy Walker and the freakin' SCHOOL he created, the Jalen Rose Leadership Academy. How is that for winning the game of life and changing the world? Guy FOUNDED A SCHOOL. IN DETROIT. Seriously, if you love basketball about 10% as much as I do, you'll love this book. It's about as fun and enlightening as celebrity memoirs can get. ...more
4

Feb 11, 2016

Fun read. Not necessarily a ton of "fresh" takes or opinions, most of them I'd already heard. Most of Jalen's points were sensible and I tended to agree with a lot of what he has to say. The negative with that, is that I don't want a book I'm going to agree with 100%. Still, his presentation is good and he offers decent logic behind his thinking.

Best part of the book is the autobiographical aspects, fun to hear Jalen's story about how he came up and from a tough neighborhood to achieve so much Fun read. Not necessarily a ton of "fresh" takes or opinions, most of them I'd already heard. Most of Jalen's points were sensible and I tended to agree with a lot of what he has to say. The negative with that, is that I don't want a book I'm going to agree with 100%. Still, his presentation is good and he offers decent logic behind his thinking.

Best part of the book is the autobiographical aspects, fun to hear Jalen's story about how he came up and from a tough neighborhood to achieve so much success. Always love these kind of stories! Plus Jalen just seems like a good guy. ...more
4

Dec 06, 2015

When this book showed up in my mailbox, the first thing I said to myself was, long ass title. Then, I thought about my crazy crush on Rose when I was a teen; yeah it was crazy because I despised basketball, despite my tomboyish behavior during my preteen years. I cant remember the first time I saw Jalen on television, but I remember swooning to death when I saw him. To this day, I still swoon when I see him. So, yeah, reading his book was a must for me.

This book isnt just basketball. In fact, When this book showed up in my mailbox, the first thing I said to myself was, long ass title. Then, I thought about my crazy crush on Rose when I was a teen; yeah it was crazy because I despised basketball, despite my tomboyish behavior during my preteen years. I can’t remember the first time I saw Jalen on television, but I remember swooning to death when I saw him. To this day, I still swoon when I see him. So, yeah, reading his book was a must for me.

This book isn’t just basketball. In fact, it’s more life lessons, funny stories, family, love, and hardships. You can’t appreciate the good in life, until you have experienced the bad. Jalen didn’t leave anything out. There are parts that will make you cringe, and you will disagree with topics of discussion. If so, the man did his job. What I love about Jalen’s life and everything that he went through, is that he never let it hold him back. He turned lemons into lemonade. Made the doubtful, speechless.

I love the photos that are added to this memoir. From his philanthropy and family, to his friendships with fellow players and his coaches; I love them all. This book couldn’t have come at a perfect time. I’m gifting my brother a copy for Christmas, since he loves all things sports. You don’t have to like basketball to read this. There is more to Jalen than that ball, so if you are having doubts about reading it, go for it. He talks about everything, and some of it is funny. Then, there are life changing moments for him, and you can feel the emotions coming off the pages. I’ll even spoil one for you, so that you will pick up this book. Did you know that he almost drowned as a kid, and that his uncle saved him? See, you want to read it now, don’t you?

You will not agree with everything he says, and there will definitely be a lot of people who can’t relate to the way that he grew up. I love how each story he tells, jumps into another one with ease. Everything connects, and it’s like reading an anthology with lots of little stories that make one big story. Which is true, because this memoir makes up Jalen Rose. Point blank period. I have more respect for him than I did before. And yes, I am still swooning over him. I definitely recommend reading this book. You want some good stories and topics of discussion, this book gives it to you.

Find all of my reviews over at Lekeisha The Booknerd ...more
5

September 17, 2017

Love to hear Jalen on radio, thought his book should be good and it was. By the way, I didn't like the Fab 5 or Duke but it was a great time to watch college basketball. #tarheels
4

Oct 28, 2015

I really enjoyed this book, but I've been a fan of Jalen Rose for years. This was written in his voice, and very well. If you were a fan of the Fab Five, or of Jalen himself, this is a good read.
3

Oct 19, 2015

I am a huge fan of Jalen Rose even after his days at Michigan. I do know a lot of his stories from other sources and from the "Fab Five" documentary. This book didn't give me a ton of new info that I was hoping for. Maybe bits and pieces from his playing days and his current job at ESPN as an analyst and commentary. Being a fan of his I enjoyed the book and glad I read it. If you're not a huge fan you may be a bit disappointed. I think it's a worthwhile read for fans of his or the Fab Five. Go I am a huge fan of Jalen Rose even after his days at Michigan. I do know a lot of his stories from other sources and from the "Fab Five" documentary. This book didn't give me a ton of new info that I was hoping for. Maybe bits and pieces from his playing days and his current job at ESPN as an analyst and commentary. Being a fan of his I enjoyed the book and glad I read it. If you're not a huge fan you may be a bit disappointed. I think it's a worthwhile read for fans of his or the Fab Five. Go Blue! ...more
4

Feb 23, 2019

I have loved Rose's approach in this book, for it is not a typical autobiographical book of a basketball star. It is a complete analysis of what it takes to be an NBA player from birth to retirement and life after that. But he does it honestly and bravely. He means to be honest, unfiltered and unbiased, and it seems to me that he gets all that.

This book is far from a hagiography. Rose boldly tells us his mistakes, accept them and reflect on them. And he speaks openly of how professional I have loved Rose's approach in this book, for it is not a typical autobiographical book of a basketball star. It is a complete analysis of what it takes to be an NBA player from birth to retirement and life after that. But he does it honestly and bravely. He means to be «honest, unfiltered and unbiased», and it seems to me that he gets all that.

This book is far from a hagiography. Rose boldly tells us his mistakes, accept them and reflect on them. And he speaks openly of how professional basketball needs to be thought of as a business, not just a game, with all that means.

Here there isn't only a handful of stories involving him in games or around basketball. Rose touches a lot of controvesrial issues around basketball: stardom, money, amateur sports, drugs (both recreational and performing enhancing), the ethical role of athletes... and he offers a logic behind his thinking with which you will have to agree.

For example, he is entirely critical with NCAA system. Rose says that «as great as college basketball will always be, it has long been so great in spite of, not because of, the NCAA». And I agree with him, he has every reason to state that because NCAA is where everybody makes money (real money)... but the players, whom are chased for a few dollars.

Another example: he is very very judgamental with Larry Brown's achievements as a coach. You can think this is a typical statement of a typical egotistical star player. But this is not the case, for Rose speaks wonders of Phil Jackson, Gregg Popovich or Pat Riley, saying even that great players are not the true way to success, but great coaches and organizations are. ...more
5

December 9, 2015

I've been following Jalen since he played in the NBA , but his position in the media made me an even bigger fan. I love the Jalen and Jacoby podcast and if you do too you will love this book. You can hear Jalen speaking as you read this book!
5

October 11, 2015

Love the in depth upbringing gand being inside the fab five. You can read this book and hear it in Jalen's voice. Only complaint is wish it was longer lol
0

Jan 17, 2016

Been a Jalen fan since the Fab Five days. Still rocking with him after all these years.
4

Nov 22, 2016

Really good. Rose loves his family and those who've helped him along the way. I hope he and C Weber patch it up.

I wish he wouldn't espouse a Christian spirituality while also exalting in his sexual misdeeds. He wrote at length about fatherlessness just as I was wondering if he was going to address it, but doesn't tie those things together.

There's also an unnecessary dig at "Republicans" (as though they "don't care" about social issues). Ironically it will be Democrats that seek to limit school Really good. Rose loves his family and those who've helped him along the way. I hope he and C Weber patch it up.

I wish he wouldn't espouse a Christian spirituality while also exalting in his sexual misdeeds. He wrote at length about fatherlessness just as I was wondering if he was going to address it, but doesn't tie those things together.

There's also an unnecessary dig at "Republicans" (as though they "don't care" about social issues). Ironically it will be Democrats that seek to limit school choice as manifested in institutions like the JRLA.

But none of that takes away from the book. It insightfully examines celebrity, collegiate and professional athletics, and friendship. ...more
3

Jan 06, 2016

Jalen Rose is one of the most unique voices in current sports broadcasting: a former player who had a movie-like rise to stardom and was riled in just enough controversy to make him appear like a friendly uncle on your telecast and not a corporate suit or company man. His insights border on insightful and he always has a fresh take though, working for ESPN, he doesn't cross any lines or break any new boundaries; he simply bends the rules.

His book does much the same thing. He makes promises to Jalen Rose is one of the most unique voices in current sports broadcasting: a former player who had a movie-like rise to stardom and was riled in just enough controversy to make him appear like a friendly uncle on your telecast and not a corporate suit or company man. His insights border on insightful and he always has a fresh take though, working for ESPN, he doesn't cross any lines or break any new boundaries; he simply bends the rules.

His book does much the same thing. He makes promises to provide arguments and conversation but he straddles the fence on shaking the foundations of the game of basketball (like he did when he was a player at Michigan) and keeping his bosses happy. He's walking the tightrope but has plenty of safety nets to help him.

I expect this on television or radio, where Rose works, as he works for a mega-corp called ESPN that is quite restrictive (and, relatively speaking, he pushes those ESPN boundaries, but that isn't saying too much). But in a BOOK, not published by his overlords, I expected a little bit more. I expected the line to be crossed ... in an intelligent way, of course ... but to be crossed. I wanted to get some juicy details of the college bball system and the behind the scenes juice of the NBA all from a perspective of a man of color, from an underprivileged background, living in a white man's world.

And while his NBA stories do provide some good gossip, Rose doesn't inflict much damage with his opinions. He certainly tries to tear apart the NCAA but all his viewpoints have been made by others, so they aren't fresh. He tries to get into the dirt behind the deterioration of his and Chris Webber's relationship ... but comes across as wanting to make an intervention, not actually tell it like it is. Plus, he spends the final 1/4 of the book talking about his (admittedly nobel and incredible) charitable organizations and general, surface level observations of youth in decay.

The plus to all this is that Rose didn't write this with anyone else. This is his voice so your inner narrator is clearly Rose. So that does help a bit as you feel like you are conversing with Rose on a pseudo-personal level. But that talk you have with him is one you'd have at work with some workplace colleagues ... you might say a few things you'd say without the boss around, but for the most part, you're sticking to a social script and not revealing too much.

Enjoyable for anecdotes on life as a high school and college superstar (though he approaches these sections with rose-colored glasses and mildly cheesy nostalgia) and as a NBA Journeyman but shockingly little in social commentary. The best 'quotable' bits are on the back cover of the book ... you may want to read that as a greatest hits and move on. ...more
4

Oct 09, 2015

http://www.themaineedge.com/buzz/a-ro...

There are few literary genres that are more hit-or-miss than sports autobiographies. While its true that the stories of athletes are often compelling ones, the fact remains that too often, these books are little more than hagiography, churned out to a great extent by a ghostwriter. They are self-celebratory and generally unengaging, offering no real insight into the subject.

However, there are some that rise above the rest, clearing the admittedly low-set http://www.themaineedge.com/buzz/a-ro...

There are few literary genres that are more hit-or-miss than sports autobiographies. While it’s true that the stories of athletes are often compelling ones, the fact remains that too often, these books are little more than hagiography, churned out to a great extent by a ghostwriter. They are self-celebratory and generally unengaging, offering no real insight into the subject.

However, there are some that rise above the rest, clearing the admittedly low-set bar with ease. One such offering is Jalen Rose’s “Got to Give the People What They Want: True Stories and Flagrant Opinions from Center Court.” Rose, a 13-year NBA veteran and current multi-platform sports media pundit, is one of the more intelligent and engaging personalities to emerge from his era in the NBA.

It’s autobiography in the truest sense of the word. Rose takes us through his childhood growing up with a single mother in Detroit, where he came to love basketball and discovered that his mysterious father was actually a former NBA All-Star. From there, he excelled both athletically and academically in high school before heading off to the University of Michigan as 20 percent of what is still considered to be one of the greatest NCAA recruiting classes of all time.

Rose’s time as one of the fabled “Fab Five” – alongside Chris Webber, Juwan Howard, Ray Jackson and Jimmy King – is recounted in detail. The highs and lows (particularly the lows) are presented unflinchingly. This is the stretch that most readers are likely to be most interested in, and Rose does not disappoint.

After college, we follow Rose to the NBA, where he initially struggled to carve out a niche for himself before finding his stride on his way to becoming a respected veteran and, ultimately, one of the better ex-players to make his way into the media realm. His forward-thinking attitude regarding alternative platforms – his work with ESPN’s Grantland in particular – has made him one of the more engaging and interesting pundits out there.

“Got to Give the People What They Want” isn’t anything groundbreaking. Rose doesn’t reinvent the wheel here; it’s the sort of book that you’ve probably read before. However – and this is a big “however” – it is a particularly engaging and well-written version of that book. Rose’s story is compelling and he largely resists the tendency toward self-aggrandizement and myth-making so prevalent in these sorts of autobiographies.

There’s no denying the honesty that Rose puts forth here. The stories that he tells paint a picture of a driven young man who never had any doubt about his own eventual success. However, he also is unafraid to address mistakes and missteps – both those made by him and by those around him. Still, there’s little value judgment taking place; Rose and his family/friends/teammates/what have you are all presented as people first. It’s a small detail, but one that elevates this book beyond the basic.

Jalen Rose is a gifted storyteller who has led an undeniably interesting life. “Got to Give the People What They Want” revels in its rarity; while it isn’t necessarily the kind of book that will engage non-fans, those with fond memories of the Fab Five or love for the NBA will likely find plenty to enjoy. ...more
5

Feb 09, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the honesty and bold approach to writing this book. Jalen did an excellent job of building his foundation and connecting it to his psychology and/or approach to basketball and life. He spoke brazenly about the Fab Five and personal demons to enlighten and to educate his audience about the plight of impoverished black youth. He also did a phenomenal job highlighting the issues with amateur sports and athletics, as well as the ethical role of today's athletes. I highly I thoroughly enjoyed the honesty and bold approach to writing this book. Jalen did an excellent job of building his foundation and connecting it to his psychology and/or approach to basketball and life. He spoke brazenly about the Fab Five and personal demons to enlighten and to educate his audience about the plight of impoverished black youth. He also did a phenomenal job highlighting the issues with amateur sports and athletics, as well as the ethical role of today's athletes. I highly recommend this read.

Dr. James Arthur Williams
www.unmaskytp.com ...more
2

Aug 09, 2017

How ironic that this is called Got to Give the People What They Want, given that it doesn't tell me anything I need to know. It seems as if it's been thoroughly bowdlerized to remove anything that might jeopardize his post-NBA career as a media personality.

All of the things you might want to read about in a book like this, including the thots NBA players bang on the road, the corruption at the University of Michigan, the life of crime he was headed toward before his basketball career took off, How ironic that this is called Got to Give the People What They Want, given that it doesn't tell me anything I need to know. It seems as if it's been thoroughly bowdlerized to remove anything that might jeopardize his post-NBA career as a media personality.

All of the things you might want to read about in a book like this, including the thots NBA players bang on the road, the corruption at the University of Michigan, the life of crime he was headed toward before his basketball career took off, so on and so forth, are merely hinted at. He does sorta kinda go into his falling out with Chris Webber, which resulted in Webber not appearing in the Fab Five 30 for 30, but you get the sense he's not telling you how he really feels.

Overall, you get the sense that Rose is someone who's been able to ascend to a certain status because he's, shall we say, particularly adept at making people feel comfortable around him. Ironically, he's become something along the lines of Grant Hill, whom he used to criticize for being a cornball brother. Unfortunately, the same characteristics that have aided him in his post-NBA career haven't made him a very interesting writer. ...more
4

Aug 24, 2017

If you are a fan of Jalen's you'll love this book and if not it still has some great stories.

This biography covers Jalen's life from childhood up to his current broadcasting career. Want to know about the Fab 5, playing professional basketball, or his transition to broadcasting? It's all here. However, if you are looking for any salacious details from his college or pro years they have been left out (he is a gentleman).

There is also a STRONG dose of Jalen's opinion on events including his If you are a fan of Jalen's you'll love this book and if not it still has some great stories.

This biography covers Jalen's life from childhood up to his current broadcasting career. Want to know about the Fab 5, playing professional basketball, or his transition to broadcasting? It's all here. However, if you are looking for any salacious details from his college or pro years they have been left out (he is a gentleman).

There is also a STRONG dose of Jalen's opinion on events including his opinion on what needs to change in college and the pros. While I don't agree with the author on several of his views I respect him and he does state the reasoning behind his views clearly.

Good read if you are a fan or remember the days of the Fab 5
...more
2

Apr 06, 2020

If you are an avid listener of the podcast, or viewer of his TV show, then youve heard a good chunk of the stories in here. The first half of the book which is about his childhood, all the way to Michigan was more descriptive. Second half which contained his NBA career and start in journalism was rushed and a lot of it was glossed over. I thought there would be more behind the curtain stories but those type of stories, were already told by him on the podcast or TV show. Still a fan of his and If you are an avid listener of the podcast, or viewer of his TV show, then you’ve heard a good chunk of the stories in here. The first half of the book which is about his childhood, all the way to Michigan was more descriptive. Second half which contained his NBA career and start in journalism was rushed and a lot of it was glossed over. I thought there would be more “behind the curtain” stories but those type of stories, were already told by him on the podcast or TV show. Still a fan of his and his work, but it seemed that ESPN Jalen wrote this book and played it safe. ...more
4

Jan 14, 2017

I found this book, a memoir by the former NBA star and present-day sports media broadcaster, thoroughly enjoyable. We've started a family book club and this was my nephew's choice. I'm grateful, as I never would have picked it up otherwise. Rose supplies stories of growing up in Detroit and playing in college and professional basketball? There were so many things I never knew about the money factor, especially in college basketball.
3

Jan 13, 2020

Wouldnt exactly say he is giving the people what we want, he is more giving people what he wants them to think of him. Liked the book overall and enjoy any basketball read but he is basically just pulling for what he wants you to think about him. He could have gone into NBA stories a lot more, skimmed obvious. Wouldn’t exactly say he is giving the people what we want, he is more giving people what he wants them to think of him. Liked the book overall and enjoy any basketball read but he is basically just pulling for what he wants you to think about him. He could have gone into NBA stories a lot more, skimmed obvious. ...more
4

May 02, 2018

Really good read. An Introspective and insightful look at a very interesting man. I have a ton of respect for Jalen Rose, his contributions to basketball, his community, and his take on collegiate student athletes. Good read for anyone.
4

Dec 28, 2019

As a Detroit, from the west side who grew up in that era, I truly enjoyed this book.
5

Aug 15, 2018

Listened to the audiobook and it was awesome. Love me some Jalen. Keep getting those checks!
5

Jul 14, 2019

Write another book. Now. Love me some Jalen. My favorite Fab 5 player. He gave the people what they wanted, and what they wanted was a book written by him!
4

Jun 01, 2016

I was a senior in high school in Michigan when the Fab Five took over the college basketball world, so of course Ive always been a big Jalen Rose fan. I watched Rose his entire college and NBA career and currently enjoy him on NBA Countdown and his show with David Jacoby. My opinion of this book was always going to be a bit biased because no way was I not going to enjoy stories of NBA life told by Mr. Rose. Go Blue baby!

I am glad to report the book did not disappoint. Rose regales us with I was a senior in high school in Michigan when the Fab Five took over the college basketball world, so of course I’ve always been a big Jalen Rose fan. I watched Rose his entire college and NBA career and currently enjoy him on NBA Countdown and his show with David Jacoby. My opinion of this book was always going to be a bit biased because no way was I not going to enjoy stories of NBA life told by Mr. Rose. Go Blue baby!

I am glad to report the book did not disappoint. Rose regales us with detailed stories of his childhood growing up in Detroit and all the people that guided him through a place where many black youth are left behind or crushed by the system. He made it out not just because of his basketball skills, but his drive, intellect and role models including the much maligned Ed Martin, RIP.

Martin is a man who has been villainized for bringing the Michigan basketball program down in the popular media, but in the world Rose comes from he really was a savior and Good Samaritan. It was great, and ultimately sad, hearing a different side of Martin’s story from a man who truly was impacted by his kindness. Right over wrong trumps the NCAA’s archaic rules in reality, but reality is not where the world of college basketball resides.

The Michigan stories were great to relive especially because that Fab Five crew had such a huge impact on me. I’m just a white boy from the suburbs, but as a youth I related to the Fab Five and hip-hop culture more than anything else at the time. The Detroit Bad Boys, Public Enemy, N.W.A. and the Fab Five were all parts of a culture that opened my eyes to black plight and the inequities of America that I was never taught in school or life. It was my first introduction to a different culture and I embraced it because it was nothing like my surroundings.

Rose had great tales about NBA life, the business side of things and how a locker hierarchy works. All of it was interesting stuff. Rose was never the all-out star I thought he might become when leaving Michigan, but he details how fate, luck and the organization play such a large part in a player’s overall impact on the league. What if Jalen plays with the Pacers much earlier in his career? What if Charlotte never trades Kobe to the Lakers? What if Penny Hardaway never blows out his knee in 1997? Fate rules the world and in the NBA as well.

Rose doesn’t shy away from his foibles and owns up to the mistakes he has made in life, but overall he has to be one of the more innovative athletes to come through the NBA. He knew the media is where he wanted to be post-NBA and put his plan in motion while he was still dropping floaters on the hardwood. He gives back to community with his founding of the Jalen Rose Leadership Academy in Detroit which is probably his most meaningful accomplishment. With great power comes great responsibility and Jalen has lived up to it. Got to Give the People What They Want is a great read from an all-time interesting character. I recommend this book to everyone who enjoys champagning and campaigning…if you all get that reference. ...more
5

Nov 08, 2015

Rose, Jalen. Got to give the people what they want. Crown Archetype, 2015. Print

Im a Texan who muted the Cowboys game to read GOT TO GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT to completion. What a surprise this book was as I did not expect it to be this great! Ive liked Jalen Rose as a sports analyst, but I must admit that I was one who cheered against the Fab Five. Even though I pride myself in understanding others and having empathy, I never have had a healthy regard for the mindset of the young men on Rose, Jalen. Got to give the people what they want. Crown Archetype, 2015. Print

I’m a Texan who muted the Cowboys game to read GOT TO GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT to completion. What a surprise this book was as I did not expect it to be this great! I’ve liked Jalen Rose as a sports analyst, but I must admit that I was one who cheered against the Fab Five. Even though I pride myself in understanding others and having empathy, I never have had a healthy regard for the mindset of the young men on the basketball court that came from his background. I did not like their style because it was so opposite what I was taught, but now I see so much more.

There is much to value from reading this book, but one of the great points is the atrocity of the NCAA. Mr. Rose shares a message that the NCAA must listen to. He changed my mind about the issue of financially helping the student athletes considering some do not have money for basic items a college student wants such as gas, clothes, and pizza! He completely changed my mind about it.

In the professional ranks, I was really glad when Jalen related how a ball club can orchestrate a downfall of a team as they plan to make personnel moves. Jalen shared inside information that the average fan is completely unaware of such as the player limitations, press leaks, and player bashing. I was dissappointed in what I learned about Coach Larry Brown, but appreciated seeing Isaiah's moves through a Detroit guy's eyes.

He writes honestly and from the heart. His voice comes through so clearly, it leaves me wanting to sit, talk, and explore ideas with him – especially about a few things I see such as another side of such as racial inequality in sports. His writing cuts to the truth, but yet he is classy enough to admit to sexual pursuits of star athletes without going into details we do not need to read about. He shares about his absent father and his determination to not be the same for his children. I love that he cuts through and shares staright from his heart.

Read this book to have a better understanding of a young boy growing up in inner city Detroit to becoming part of the Fab Five who then goes on to a professional career in the NBA and in broadcasting. Bill Simmons wrote the foreword, but I never imagined this book would be this good! While reading it, I thought of person after person who would like reading this part or that part or the entire book. Thanks, Jalen Rose, for a glimpse into your thoughts which help me to appreciate you, baggy basketball shorts, and black socks.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

More Info
Author Bio ...more

Best Books from your Favorite Authors & Publishers

compare-icon compare-icon
Thousands of books

Take your time and choose the perfect book.

review-icon review-icon
Read Reviews

Read ratings and reviews to make sure you are on the right path.

vendor-icon vendor-icon
Multiple Stores

Check price from multiple stores for a better shopping experience.

gift-icon

Enjoy Result